In Germany?!

I’ve not blogged for an age!

Events overtook me in a big way with Get Running. Actually getting it on the App store took about a month as it had one rejection (an OS 3.0 bug) and we were on holiday at the time. It’s now there though, and it’s third update is currently in review! You can find Get Running in the iTunes store or have a look at the beautiful pages Matt created for it at the Splendid-Thing site.

I should briefly mention that as well as my brother Sam providing the artwork for Get Running, a friend Matt has done all of the web site work. The audio that is used in Get Running is all the voice of another friend Clare, and it was recorded by her Husband Rico (who’s a musician, and knows his sound recording). It’s been awesome working with these people, and it’s great to know that when the cheque comes from Apple, I’ll be sharing it with other people that helped to make this work.

I’m still running with Get Running, and finished week 5 run 2 this morning. If mathematics bells are ringing in your head, then you’re right. I ought to be much further along than I am now. I should have finished weeks ago, in fact! I had an injury in July that stopped me running for a few weeks. I was climbing over a fence, you see, and landed really badly when I jumped down the other side. *sigh* I should know better, shouldn’t I – Yes! I should be better at climbing fences! I then also had an no runs period because … because I just didn’t for a bit. Fitting it in seemed to be tricky for a bit, and I wanted to spend what spare time I had with my Misa and Robi.

Get Running is doing pretty nicely though. In the UK it’s been at about 15 in Health and Fitness for quite a while, and I think it’s got a good chance of staying about there. In the US, its fortunes haven’t been so good. Following an update it spent a heady day or so at about number 10, but then it started a long gradual decline. It’s still in the top 100, but I’m not sure it will stay there. I’m kind of hoping that it might pick up there – I think a few more really glowing reviews would do the world of good.

Germany?

Yes! I’m temporarily working as a freelancer in Dusseldorf, Germany, on some pretty cool graphics and navigation applications for the iPhone. I’m missing Robi and Misa, but it is nice feeling like I’ve definitely got enough spare time to go out and run! I’ll see them in another week anyway.

On Monday morning I’ve got my longest run yet, by far. It’s w5-r3, which is 20 minutes of straight running. I don’t feel very confident of finishing it, and if I don’t, it’ll be the first time I’ve not completed a run that I’ve started. Still, that’s not a very winning attitude 🙂 I’ll try to get my head in order before hand!

I think I’m going to try and blog a bit more often. I’ve noticed that I write lots of stuff in lots of places (emails, facebook, twitter), and it would be nice to put everything in to one place, really. Certainly while I’m over here it makes sense to.

Leave a Reply

